Mailgun Email Validation vs ZeroBounce

This pairing is a sending platform against a verification specialist. Mailgun includes email validation in its sending plans, so the check comes with the ESP that delivers your mail. ZeroBounce sells verification on its own, inside a deliverability suite, and works in front of whichever platform you send with.

Mailgun Email ValidationZeroBounce
How you buy itInside Mailgun's sending plans; no standalone validation planOn its own, pay as you go or by subscription
Included checks5,000 validations on Foundation and Scale plans100 a month on a business domain
Past the included amountFrom $1.20 per 100 on Foundation, from $0.80 per 100 on Scale$39 for a 2,000-credit minimum, then subscription tiers
Credit termsNot stated on its pricing pageRoll over while the subscription is active
Beside the verdictThe Mailgun sending platformBlacklist monitoring, inbox placement, DMARC tools, activity data
Accuracy claimNot stated on its pricing page99.6%

Figures read from each vendor's own page in September 2026.

Where each one is stronger

What each vendor does that the other does not, stated as capability rather than advice.

Mailgun Email Validation strengths

  • Mailgun puts validation where your mail already goes. Its Foundation and Scale sending plans include 5,000 validations, and past that you pay from $1.20 per 100 on Foundation or from $0.80 per 100 on Scale, read on mailgun.com/pricing on 24 September 2026. That means one vendor and one invoice for sending and checking. A team that validates signups just before a Mailgun send never moves data between tools.

ZeroBounce strengths

  • ZeroBounce works with any sending platform, because the check stands apart from delivery. Entry is $39 for a 2,000-credit minimum, and a business domain gets 100 free checks a month, read in September 2026. Beside the verdict you get blacklist monitoring, inbox placement tests, DMARC tools and activity data. It publishes a 99.6% accuracy claim and runs 100,000 addresses in 45 to 60 minutes.

What separates Mailgun Email Validation from ZeroBounce

Ask first whether Mailgun is your only sending tool. If every list goes out through Mailgun, validation on the same plan keeps things simple, and 5,000 included checks may cover a small signup flow each month. If you also send from a CRM or a cold email tool, decide whether you want validation on your ESP's bill or bought on its own for every list. Our Mailgun list cleaning guide shows the file route either way.

Mailgun prices validation per 100, and ZeroBounce per credit pack, so line them up at your own volume. Take your monthly count, subtract the 5,000 Mailgun includes, and apply the overage rate for your plan. Set that beside ZeroBounce's pack price at the same count, from the ZeroBounce pricing breakdown. Don't compare the per-100 rate to a per-1,000 headline in your head, because the units trip people up.

ZeroBounce's extra tools matter only if you'll open them. Blacklist monitoring and inbox placement tests help a sender whose reputation moves week to week. A team whose only problem is bad signups on a Mailgun form gets less from the suite. The Mailgun bounce rate guide shows which of those problems you have.

What Mailgun Email Validation and ZeroBounce both run into

Vendor accuracy percentages in this category count how often a returned verdict was right. They are calculated after the catch-alls and the servers that refuse to answer have left the denominator. Hunter tested 15 verifiers on 3,000 real business addresses (3 November 2025) and measured 31.2% to 70.0% overall. Both kinds of figure are real and they are not measuring the same thing.

Questions about Mailgun Email Validation and ZeroBounce

Can I buy Mailgun email validation on its own?

Mailgun's pricing page showed no standalone validation plan on 24 September 2026. Validation comes with its sending plans: Foundation and Scale include 5,000 validations, with overage from $1.20 or $0.80 per 100. ZeroBounce sells verification on its own, from a $39 minimum.

How many free checks does each include?

Mailgun includes 5,000 validations with its Foundation and Scale sending plans. ZeroBounce gives 100 free checks a month on a business domain. Mailgun's allowance comes with a paid sending plan, and ZeroBounce's needs only a business email.

Does ZeroBounce work with Mailgun?

Yes. ZeroBounce cleans the list before it reaches any ESP, so you upload the file, remove the bad rows and import the rest into Mailgun. The same cleaned file works in any other sending tool you run.

Which is more accurate?

Mailgun states no accuracy figure on its pricing page, and ZeroBounce publishes 99.6%. That figure counts returned verdicts after the hard addresses left the pool. Run the same 1,000 addresses through both and count the rows with no firm answer.

List every tool that sends email for you. One tool, and it's Mailgun, keeps the check on the same bill. More than one, and a check that stands apart covers them all. See the Mailgun integration, the comparison hub and how verification works.

A third option, and we built it

100 free checks a month, no card, and credits that never expire. Unknown results are never billed.