Cheapest email verifiers
Email verification prices split into two bands four to fifteen times apart for the same check, and billed unknowns, expiry and minimums move the real cost further.
How this was compared
Disclosure: ZapBounce is our product. Figures were read from each vendor's own pages in September 2026, and the criteria below were applied to every entry, ours included.
The short version
- All-in terms in writing: a published price at every list size from 1,000 to 1,000,000, a stated rule on unknown results, a stated expiry rule and no minimum purchase. Vendors that publish all four rank above vendors that leave one unstated.
- Within each group, the published rate at 1,000, 10,000, 100,000 and 1,000,000 addresses.
- Extra credits for harder checks, such as catch-all validation, which change the rate on a B2B list.
- The free allowance and whether it recurs.
- Figures read from each vendor's own pricing page in September 2026.
At a glance
| 10,000 addresses | Credit expiry | Bills unknowns | |
|---|---|---|---|
| ZapBounce | $25 | Credits never expire | No |
| Bouncer | $60 | Credits never expire | No |
| Kickbox | $70 | Credits expire one year from purchase | No |
| MillionVerifier | Not shown in the tiers we could read | Credits never expire, stated twice on their page | No |
| Reoon | $11.90 | Instant credits never expire | Not stated |
| EmailVerify.io | $25 for 20,000 | Pay-as-you-go credits never expire; subscription credits roll two months | Not stated |
| EmailListVerify | $27 | Credits never expire | Not stated |
| DeBounce | Tiered from 5,000 to 5,000,000 | Credits never expire | Not stated |
| ZeroBounce | Subscription only | Credits roll over while the subscription is active | Not stated |
Vendor figures read from their own pricing pages in September 2026. Confirm before purchase, because prices move.
The ranking
Best first, with the situation each one fits.
ZapBounce
$5 for 1,000, $25 for 10,000, $139 for 100,000 and $949 for a million, pay as you go. Unknown results and duplicates are not billed, credits never expire, and there is no minimum.
- Best for:
- A buyer comparing what a clean really costs once unknown results, a credit clock and a minimum purchase are counted. The smallest job costs $5, and every tier is on the pricing page.
Bouncer
$8 for 1,000, $60 for 10,000, $400 for 100,000 and $2,000 for a million, with no charge for duplicates or unknowns and credits that never expire.
- Best for:
- Buyers who want every term on one readable page and are pricing mid-size jobs.
- Less suited to:
- A procurement file that asks for a vendor accuracy figure, since Bouncer publishes none.
Kickbox
$5 for 500, $10 for 1,000, $70 for 10,000, $500 for 100,000 and $2,999 for a million, with unknowns refunded (read 2026-09-24).
- Best for:
- Buyers who spend a pack within the year and want a quality score on each address.
- Less suited to:
- Lumpy usage, since credits expire one year from purchase.
MillionVerifier
$89 for 50,000 and $449 for a million, pay as you go, with credits that never expire and a refund on addresses they could not verify (read 2026-09-24).
- Best for:
- A single very large clean bought as one million-address pack.
- Less suited to:
- Pricing a 1,000, 10,000 or 100,000 job before you buy, since those tiers did not render on their page when we read it.
Reoon
$11.90 for 10,000, $116.40 for 100,000 and $960 for a million, with instant credits that never expire.
- Best for:
- Large cleans priced on the rate at 10,000 and above.
- Less suited to:
- Buyers who need the rule on unknown results in writing, since their pricing page does not state it, and a 1,000 pack is not listed separately.
EmailVerify.io
$5 for 1,000, $25 for 20,000, $130 for 100,000 and $1,015 for a million, with 100 free checks a month.
- Best for:
- Regular mid-volume cleaning where the recurring free allowance covers the small jobs.
- Less suited to:
- Buyers who need the rule on unknown results in writing, since their pricing page leaves it unstated.
EmailListVerify
$5 for 1,000, $27 for 10,000 and $186 for 100,000, with credits that never expire.
- Best for:
- Small and mid-size cleans from a long-running budget vendor.
- Less suited to:
- Buyers who need the rule on unknown results in writing, since their pricing page does not state it.
DeBounce
Tiered from 5,000 to 5,000,000 addresses, from $0.00045 a check, with credits that never expire.
- Best for:
- Very large consumer lists, where the catch-all share is small and the headline rate holds.
- Less suited to:
- B2B cleaning, since catch-all validation and enrichment cost extra credits per address.
ZeroBounce
$39 for a 2,000-credit minimum, with larger tiers sold by subscription and a deliverability suite priced in.
- Best for:
- Teams who would otherwise buy blacklist monitoring and inbox placement testing separately.
- Less suited to:
- Price-led buying of the verifier alone, since the 10,000 and 100,000 tiers are subscription only.
Why ZapBounce ranks first
How to choose
- Price band. Incumbents charge about $0.004 to $0.02 an address and challengers about $0.001 to $0.0027, a four to fifteen times gap for the same protocol check. ZapBounce's ladder runs from $0.005 at 1,000 down to $0.00095 at a million (how much does verification cost?).
- Billing for unknowns. Bouncer, Kickbox and MillionVerifier don't bill them, and Reoon, EmailVerify.io and EmailListVerify leave it unstated (read September 2026). ZapBounce never bills an unknown (which verifiers charge for unknowns).
- Extra credits. DeBounce charges extra for catch-all validation, so its headline rate drifts on a B2B list. ZapBounce bills a
catch_allresult at one credit, the same as any other verdict. - Expiry. Kickbox credits expire one year from purchase and Hunter's after twelve months. Buy 100,000, use 60,000, and you paid for 40,000 checks you never ran. ZapBounce credits never expire.
- Minimum purchase. ZeroBounce starts at $39 for 2,000 and Emailable at 5,000 credits, so for a small job the minimum is the price. ZapBounce starts at $5. See free email verifiers for jobs under 100 addresses, or the best-of hub.
Questions people ask
Why is the price gap so wide for the same check?
Brand, support and bundled tooling explain part of a four to fifteen times spread. The underlying protocol exchange is the same, so a verifier-only buyer is paying for tooling they may never open.
Does a cheap verifier give worse answers?
Usually it gives fewer of them. The common saving is fewer retries on temporary failures, which lowers coverage rather than accuracy on what does get resolved.
What is the most misleading part of a pricing page?
A missing rule on results the vendor got no answer on. On a list heavy in throttling hosts that is a real share of the file, and paying for it changes the effective rate more than the headline does.
Why is NeverBounce not ranked here?
NeverBounce's pricing page could not be read on its own site in September 2026, and every ranked entry needs a dated figure from the vendor.
Does a low rate mean fewer checks per address?
Not at ZapBounce. Each address runs syntax, a DNS lookup of the domain's MX record, then our own SMTP handshake on port 25 through RCPT TO. We hang up before DATA, so no message is ever sent. A greylisting host answers 4xx to a first probe by design, and any row that never reaches a verdict comes back unknown at no charge.
What does a free account include?
Every new account gets 100 free credits on signup, with no card. That allowance recurs every month, which covers spot checks on a handful of addresses without a purchase.
How do I work out what a clean really costs me?
Take what you pay and divide it by the rows you can actually mail. Say your export holds 10,000 rows and 1,500 are repeats from merged spreadsheets. ZapBounce bills each unique address once, and an unknown result costs nothing, so repeats and silent servers never inflate your spend. That per-mailable-row figure is the honest one to hold against any vendor's sticker rate.
Is a monthly plan cheaper than paying as you go?
Yes. A monthly plan costs 15% less than the same credits bought pay as you go, and unused credits roll over while the plan stays active. It suits a steady trickle of signups or weekly imports. For a one-time cleanup, pay as you go keeps things simple, since those credits never expire either.
Which fees should I look for besides the rate?
Check four lines before you pay: a monthly platform charge, extra credits for catch-all checks, a minimum top-up and an expiry clock. DeBounce adds credits for catch-all validation, ZeroBounce starts at $39 and Kickbox credits lapse after a year, read September 2026. ZapBounce's pricing page shows one price per tier, and those four lines stay empty.
What does it cost to clean 50,000 addresses?
ZapBounce charges $89 for 50,000 checks, about $0.00178 per address, with no subscription attached. A seasonal retailer cleaning twice a year pays that twice and keeps any leftover credits for the next season.
What does a million checks cost at each vendor?
At a million addresses, ZapBounce charges $949, or $0.00095 per address. Bouncer charges $2,000 and Kickbox $2,999 for the same volume, read September 2026. Run four quarterly cleanups a year and that gap reappears on every invoice.
Run the same sample through two of them
100 free checks a month, no card. Compare how many addresses each one declined to judge, which matters more than either accuracy claim.