ZapBounce vs SendGrid Email Validation
SendGrid Email Validation is a feature of Twilio SendGrid, the platform you send through. ZapBounce is a verifier on its own, from $5 for 1,000 checks, and it sits in front of any ESP. The real question is whether list cleaning should be tied to where you send.
| ZapBounce | SendGrid Email Validation | |
|---|---|---|
| Accuracy reporting | Coverage stated: the share of your list with a definite verdict | Not stated on its public pages |
| 1,000 addresses | $5 | Inside the 2,500 validations on Pro, from $89.95/mo |
| 10,000 addresses | $25 | Pro includes 2,500; overage price not disclosed |
| 100,000 addresses | $139 | Premier includes 5,000; custom pricing |
| Free tier | 100 a month, no card | Essentials plans include 0 validations |
| Credit expiry | Never | Not stated on its pricing page |
| Billed for unknowns | No | Not stated |
SendGrid Email Validation figures read from their own pricing page in September 2026.
How SendGrid Email Validation prices it
SendGrid counts validations inside its sending plans. Essentials includes none, Pro includes 2,500 from $89.95 a month, and Premier includes 5,000 at a custom price, with the overage rate left off the page (Twilio pricing, read September 2026). ZapBounce prints one table for verification alone: $5 for 1,000, $25 for 10,000 and $139 for 100,000. Unknown rows and duplicates cost nothing, and credits never expire.
Why teams pick ZapBounce over SendGrid Email Validation
What changes when your list runs through ZapBounce instead.
The short version
- Verification sold on its own, from $5 for 1,000 checks, in front of whichever ESP sends your mail.
- Results come back in your dashboard and through the API, with your original columns plus the result, the reason and a billed flag.
- Unknown results and duplicate rows are never charged, and the pricing page says so.
- Credits never expire, and 100 free credits arrive every month with no card.
- Our own SMTP check on port 25, closed before DATA, so no message reaches the addresses you check.
Moving off SendGrid Email Validation
SendGrid's validation lives inside the account you send with, so list cleaning follows your ESP. Bulk results arrive as a CSV sent to the email address on the SendGrid account. If you clean lists for more than one sending tool, or before a list reaches any ESP, you want the check to stand on its own. ZapBounce is that step, with results waiting in your dashboard and over the API.
Your SendGrid sending stays exactly as it is. Upload an old list to ZapBounce as a CSV, or call POST /v1/verify from your signup form for new addresses. Each row comes back valid, invalid, catch_all or unknown with a reason, and only the rows you keep go on to SendGrid.
The hard addresses, and how they come back
Questions people ask about SendGrid Email Validation
How does SendGrid return bulk validation results?
SendGrid's docs say bulk validation takes a CSV or zipped CSV at a unique URL, runs asynchronously and sends the results as a CSV to the account's email address (read September 2026). ZapBounce shows results in your dashboard and over the API, with your columns plus the result, reason and billed flag.
How many validations does a SendGrid plan include?
Twilio's pricing page lists 0 validations on Essentials, 2,500 on Pro from $89.95 a month and 5,000 on Premier at a custom price, with no overage rate shown (read September 2026). ZapBounce charges $5 for 1,000 checks with no sending plan.
Can I verify with ZapBounce and still send through SendGrid?
Yes. Clean the list in ZapBounce first, by CSV upload or through the API, then import only the rows you keep into SendGrid. Your domains, templates and sending setup stay as they are.
Should I verify at signup or right before a SendGrid send?
Both work with ZapBounce. Call POST /v1/verify from your signup form to stop bad addresses at entry, and upload older lists before a campaign. Unknown results are free either way.
Is ZapBounce cheaper than SendGrid Email Validation?
At 100,000 addresses we list $139 and they list Premier includes 5,000; custom pricing. Compare the per-address rate rather than the headline, and check what each side does with unknowns: ours are never billed.
Can I test both before deciding?
Yes, and you should. Run the same sample of a few thousand addresses through each and compare how many came back unresolved. That difference matters more than either accuracy claim.
Keep SendGrid for sending, put ZapBounce in front of it, and price your next import at $25 for 10,000 checks.
Run the same sample through us and SendGrid Email Validation
100 free checks a month, no card, and the unknowns come back labeled.