CaptainVerify alternatives

CaptainVerify buyers usually come looking over price at volume. ZapBounce is $139 for a hundred thousand against $236, with unknowns never billed and credits that never expire.

Service100,000 addressesCredits expire?Bills unknowns?
ZapBounce$139NeverNo
ZeroBounceSubscription onlyCredits roll over while the subscription is activeNot stated
Bouncer$400, and 1,000,000 for $2,000NeverNo
EmailableCustomNeverNo
ClearoutNot listedNeverNo
Kickbox$500 ($1,100 for 250,000; $2,999 for a million)Credits expire one year from purchaseNo
CaptainVerify$236Not on their public pagesNo

Read from each vendor's own pricing page in September 2026. Prices move, so confirm theirs before you buy. Ours are published in full on the pricing page.

Why people look elsewhere

Price at volume, usually. At a hundred thousand addresses they are $236 against ZapBounce's $139, and at ten thousand the gap is $71 against $25.

A pay-as-you-go ladder excluding tax: $8 for a thousand, $71 for ten thousand, $236 for a hundred thousand, $767 for a million. One oddity worth knowing, since we checked it twice: their ten-thousand tier works out marginally dearer per check than their five-thousand tier. Subscriptions take about 10% off the same ladder.

What ZapBounce changes for a CaptainVerify user

The differences that show up on the first invoice and the first results file.

The short version

  • Lower at every tier: $5 against $8 for 1,000, $25 against $71 for 10,000, and $139 against $236 for 100,000.
  • Credits never expire, stated on our pricing page. CaptainVerify's validity window is not stated on their public pages.
  • 100 free credits every month, not only on opening an account.
  • Unknowns are never billed in the first place, rather than recredited after the fact.
  • Coverage reported on every list, so the share with a definite verdict is a number you can hold a vendor to.

Before you move off CaptainVerify

Run the same sample through two vendors and the interesting number is not how many came back valid.

Check your contracts before your invoices

If a clause names a hosting location or a certificate, bring it to every vendor you shortlist. If none does, compare the rate and the billing rules, where ZapBounce leads.

Ask any replacement to match the recredit rule

CaptainVerify recredits unknowns as a named policy. Most of this category says nothing either way, and silence is not a no-charge policy.

Find out whether you use the mobile lookup

HLR verification sits on its own ladder. If you use it, keep it there and move the email checks on their own.

Get their credit validity in writing

No expiry window was published where we could read it. That answer decides what a large prepaid pack is actually worth.

What switching actually involves

Easy technically: export, upload the same file to ZapBounce, and compare the unresolved share row for row. If you also run their HLR phone lookup, keep it on its own ladder; only the email side moves.

What stays true whichever verifier replaces CaptainVerify

Questions about moving off CaptainVerify

Do their credits expire?

Not stated where we could read it in September 2026. They advertise plans with and without commitment and publish no validity window. Ask directly, because the answer changes what a large pack is worth.

What about the mobile verification?

HLR lookup sits on a separate ladder from their email verification. Keep it there if you use it; the email side moves on its own, because the two were never priced together.

Why do people leave CaptainVerify?

Price at volume, usually. At a hundred thousand addresses they are $236 against ZapBounce's $139, and at ten thousand the gap is $71 against $25.

How hard is it to switch verifiers?

For bulk cleaning, no harder than uploading the file somewhere else. For real-time checks on a signup form it is an API swap, which is an afternoon.

Read your contracts, then your invoices. Where no clause decides it, ZapBounce is lower at every tier and never bills an unknown.

Put us next to CaptainVerify on your own list

100 free checks a month, no card.